WNDB contest

Recently, I’ve become interested in writing competitions to do while I fail at writing a novel. And one competiiton which had caught my eye, was the WNDB (we need diverse books) contest. I need to write a short story that appeals to children ages 8-12 years old. This will be a challenge because a. I don’t usually write/work on short stories and b. I don’t usually write for children.

On top of that, it also has to be a diverse story from a diverse story? I am apparently mildly autistic. I am saying “apparently” because because I think I’m not but who am I against a psychiatrist? Am I diverse?

My story is about an autistic boy named Archer (may tell you Archer’s story and my fling towards mitochondrial disease career), who is obsessed with numbers and have forgotten the times and loves blind folded chess. That’s chess without a chess board by the way. Is this a diverse story? Is this going to appeal to children who are also facing with the problems that archer faces? Or even if they don’t face these problems, maybe they can still relate to him.

Wish me luck in this competition and I will post on other competitions that I’m doing or find later on in the week. I’ll also do daily word prompts again.

Thank you and please feel free to leave a comment down below.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

