Be water, my friend

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly writing challenge: “Ice, Water, Steam.”

“Empty your mind. Be formless. Shapeless. Like water.

You put water in a cup, it becomes the cup.

You put water in a bottle, it becomes the bottle.

You put water in a tea cup, it becomes the tea cup.

Water can flow, or it can crash.

Be water, my friend”.

These famous words were said by Bruce Lee, a Kung fu master when he was alive. He is still a great legend and I looked up to him a lot. I like to think of myself as a writer, but wouldn’t be as confident as people like Marcy (mudpie writing) and Joe bunting (write practise), to say that I am one if asked.

For me, becoming like water can be used as advice for writing. You’ve got to empty your mind and let your imagination, creativity and quirkiness come loose in your head. You’ve got to become the characters so that they will be real to you and therefore real to the readers. You’ve got to put yourself in the characters’ shoes, and in their situations. You’ve got experience new things, keep learning, keep your eyes open for anything newsworthy.

Water can flow or it can crash. When you are writing, the words can flow like a stream, or it can crash and suddenly you stop writing, you put the pen down because you have no idea what you just wrote and no idea where to go from there.

When I am happy, it’s like i’m walking on air. And air is close enough to steam, so let’s say that steam means happiness. that’s so weird to say that but anyways…And ice is when you are frozen and can’t think, can’t move, can’t do anything right it seems. Water is going back and forth between the two. it’s the middle stage. It’s, I guess, the stage where you are able to write as easily as me writing right now. But it’s not solid like ice. It’s not stable and that’s when and why fear creeps in and you go from water to ice or steam.

I hope I’m not confusing anyone, lol. I don’t even know if i’ve done the challenge right, but there you go.

To go to the writing challenge yourself, go to https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_writing_challenge/ice-water-steam/

Additional note: I think the reason why my “definitions” may be confusing is because water, steam and ice are one and the same thing just in different physical forms and chemical properties. Are you stuck on your writing? That’s the writing process. Do you feel so happy, like you could write forever because you have so many ieas coming at you at once? That’s what writing is like. Do you feel like you’d never write again? Like you’re full of gas and steam and nothingness? Yup, that’s also part of the writing process and unfortunately, stops many people from writing. It happens to me but then I get back up on the horse again. Some people though, never get back on the horse. You are lucky if you are still going.

Leave a comment

February 5, 2015 · 10:01 am

Leave a Reply

